Association‌ of‌ State‌ &‌ Territorial‌ Dental‌ Directors
3858‌ Cashill Blvd.,‌ Reno,‌ NV‌ ‌89509
Phone‌ 775-626-5008‌‌

Board of Directors (2020 - 2021)

ASTDD Board of Directors - ASTDD is governed by a nine member Board of Directors comprised of the five elected Officers, three regular member Directors, and one Associate Member Director.  The five elected Officers of ASTDD are the President, President-elect, Secretary, Treasurer, and the Immediate Past President.  The President-elect must have previously served as an Officer or Director of the Association. Officers serve two-year terms, except for the Treasurer who serves a three-year term.  The term for Directors is three years.  Ex-officio members of the Board of Directors include the Executive Director, the Cooperative Agreement Manager and the Executive Director Emeritus.

ASTDD Management Team: The Management Team includes the President, President-elect, Immediate Past President, Executive Director, Executive Director Emeritus, and the Cooperative Agreements Manager.  The Management Team meets as needed. The Management Team meetings provide an opportunity for discussion between the organization's staff and officers for timely discussion of ASTDD business that may need to be addressed prior to the next monthly Board of Directors meeting. Minutes of Management Team calls are sent to the Board of Directors prior to their next meeting.

Election of Officers and Directors - The Nominating Committee nominates members to serve as Officers or Directors as current terms expire. The Immediate Past President chairs the committee and three ASTDD members are selected by the Executive Committee to serve. One member of the Nominating Committee must be an Associate Member.  A list of nominees is submitted to the Association membership at least 30 days prior to the Annual Meeting. Additional nominations may be made from the floor at the Annual Meeting. The regular member Directors and Officers are elected by the regular members at the Annual Meeting. The Associate Member Director is elected by the associate members by electronic vote.  The electronic ballot is open for 15 days after the call for the vote is distributed electronically (unless the election is uncontested).


Christine M. Farrell, RDH, BSDH, MPA
Oral Health Program Director
Michigan Department of Health & Human Services
109 W. Michigan Ave
Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: (517) 335-8388
Fax: (517) 335-8697
Term Expires 2022


Julia Wacloff, RDH, MS
Office of Oral Health
Arizona Department of Health Services
150 North 18th Ave, Suite 320
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 364-1474
Fax: (602) 542-1843
Term Expires 2022

Jason M. Roush, DDS
State Dental Director
DHHR Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health
Oral Health Project
350 Capitol Street, Room 427
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 356-4353
Fax: (304) 558-3510
Term Expires 2022

Samuel R Zwetchkenbaum, DDS, MPH
Chief, Oral Health Division
Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, 02908
Phone: (401) 222-6079
Term Expires 2022

Treasurer Russ Dunkel, DDS, BS, BA, FACD, FAID
State Dental Director
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Room 218
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: (608) 266-3702
Term Expires May 2024

Jayanth Kumar, DDS, MPH
State Dental Director
California Department of Public Health
P.O. Box 997377, MS 7218
Sacramento, CA 95899
Phone: (916) 449-5363
Fax: (916) 552-9729
Term Expires 2023


Adam Barefoot, DMD, MPH
Department of Public Health
5090 Healey Drive
Smyrna, GA 30082
Phone: (470) 717-8534
Term Expires 2024


Mona Van Kanegan, DDS, MS, MPH
Division Chief
Division of Oral Health
Illinois Department of Public
535 W. Jefferson St.
Springfield, IL 62761
Phone: (217) 557-5322
Fax: (217) 557-7117
Term Expires 2022

Associate Member
John Welby, MS
OHLC Project Director
DHMH. PHPA, Office of Oral Health
201 W. Preston Street, Room 427B
Baltimore, Maryland   21201
Phone: (410) 767-6735
Fax: (410) 333-7392
Term Expires 2024

Executive Director
Ex Officio
Christine Wood, RDH, BS
Executive Director
3858 Cashill Blvd.
Reno, NV  89509
Telephone: 775-626-5008

Executive Director Emeritus
Ex Officio
M. Dean Perkins DDS, MPH
Executive Director Emeritus
9113 Bradford St.
Denton, TX 76207
Telephone 573-659-4296


Bruce W. Austin, DMD

Statewide Dental Director

Oregon Health Authority

500 Summer St NE, E-49

Salem, OR 97301

Phone: (503) 551-5905

Fax: (503) 378-5511